Book England - Book Devon
Compton Pool, South Devon

Award Winning Devon

Finding places to stay and visit in Devon just got even easier. Many of the chalets, caravan parks, B&Bs, self-catering cottages and luxury hotels Devonhas to offer are award-winners several times over, in recognition of their commitment to providing the best, with Devon's hotels recently being voted some of the best in the world by reviewers on Trip Advisor.

The Devon Tourism Awards 2015


OUTSTANDING CONTRIBUTION TO DEVON TOURISM                    

Sponsored by Visit Devon  www.visitdevon.co.uk

The Network Rail and Amco Rail team that gave us back the main line at Dawlish

 

WINNER OF WINNERS                  

Sponsored by Great Western Railway  www.gwr.com

Higher Wiscombe, Colyton  www.higherwiscombe.com

 

ACCESS & INCLUSIVITY

Sponsored by Purple Cloud Consultancy  www.purplecloudconsultancy.co.uk

Gold                     

Calvert Trust Exmoor, Kentisbury  www.calvert-trust.org.uk/exmoor

 

ACTIVE & SPORTING EXPERIENCE

Sponsored by EmAl Brewery  www.emalbrewery.co.uk

Gold                     

Mayflower Marina, Plymouth  www.mayflowermarina.co.uk

 

ARTISTIC, CULTURAL & LEARNING EXPERIENCE                 

Sponsored by Brittany Ferries  www.brittanyferries.co.uk     

Gold                     

River Cottage HQ, Musbury  www.rivercottage.net

 

B&B, GUEST ACCOMMODATION & INN OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Nicholsons  www.nicholsonssw.co.uk     

Gold                     

Rydon Farm Bed & Breakfast, Woodbury  www.rydonfarmwoodbury.co.uk

 

CAFÉ & TEAROOM OF THE YEAR              

Sponsored by The Source Trade Show  www.thesourcetradeshow.co.uk

Gold                     

The Guardhouse Café, Brixham  www.guardhousecafe.com

 

CAMPING & CARAVANNING PARK         

Sponsored by A Head for PR  www.aheadforpr.co.uk

Gold     

Woodovis Park, Gulworthy  www.woodovis.com

 

DOG FRIENDLY ACCOMMODATION

Sponsored by Doggy Devon  www.doggydevon.co.uk

Gold                     

Higher Wiscombe, Colyton  www.higherwiscombe.com

 

HOLIDAY PARK & HOLIDAY VILLAGE                      

Sponsored by Stephens Scown solicitors www.stephens-scown.co.uk

Gold                     

Beverley Holidays, Paignton  www.beverley-holidays.co.uk

 

INTERNATIONAL VISITOR EXPERIENCE  

Sponsored by Exeter International Airport  www.exeter-airport.co.uk

Gold

Unique Devon Tours, Newton Abbot  www.uniquedevontours.com

 

LARGE ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by DISCVR  www.discvr.agency

Gold                     

RHS Garden Rosemoor, Gt Torrington  www.rhs.org.uk/rosemoor

 

LARGE HOTEL OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Hotel Perfect www.hotelperfect.co.uk     

Gold                     

Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, Salcombe  www.salcombe-harbour-hotel.co.uk

 

PUB OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by Accounting & General   www.accountingandgeneral.co.uk           

Gold                     

The Swan, Bampton  www.theswan.co

 

RESTAURANT OF THE YEAR        

Sponsored by Charles Darrow  www.charlesdarrow.co.uk

Gold                     

The Coach House by Michael Caines at Kentisbury Grange, Barnstaple   www.kentisburygrange.com

 

SELF CATERING

Sponsored by Quality in Tourism  www.qualityintourism.com

Gold                     

Higher Wiscombe, Colyton  www.higherwiscombe.com

 

SMALL ATTRACTION OF THE YEAR

Sponsored by App for Devon with Westward Marketing  www.appfordevon.com www.westwardmarketing.co.uk

Gold                     

Plymouth Gin, Plymouth  www.plymouthdistillery.com

 

SMALL HOTEL OF THE YEAR        

Sponsored by Clockwork Marketing   www.clock-work.co.uk

Gold                     

Kentisbury Grange, Barnstaple  www.kentisburygrange.com

 

SPA & WELLBEING EXPERIENCE

Sponsored by Brewer and Bunney  www.brewerandbunney.co.uk          

Gold                     

The Spa at Ilsington, Ilsington www.ilsington.co.uk

 

SUSTAINABLE TOURISM AWARD                             

Sponsored by Plymouth Gin  www.plymouthgin.com

Gold                     

National Marine Aquarium, Plymouth  www.national-aquarium.co.uk

 

TOURISM EVENT OF THE YEAR  

Sponsored by Booking.com  www.booking.com   

Gold                     

The Contemporary Craft Festival, Bovey Tracey  www.craftsatboveytracey.co.uk

 

TOURIST INFORMATION SERVICE OF THE YEAR 

Sponsored by MiHi Digital  www.mihidigital.co.uk 

Gold                     

Dartmouth Tourist Information Centre, Dartmouth  www.dartmoutheverytime.co.uk

 

UNSUNG HERO AWARD FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Sponsored by South West Water Business Services  www.swwbusiness.co.uk

Gold     

Rachel Grose of Finlake Holiday Park, Chudleigh  www.haulfryn.co.uk

 

VENUE & BUSINESS TOURISM AWARD

Sponsored by Triodos Bank www.triodos.co.uk               

Gold                     

Highbullen Hotel Golf & Country Club, Umberleigh  www.highbullen.co.uk

 

The VisitEngland Awards

These awards represent the highest accolade in English tourism, and celebrate the very best in quality and innovation - and in 2014 Devon businesses were well represented amongst the winners.

Places to stay

Small hotel of the year

Gold - The Old Rectory Hotel, Martinhoe

Business tourism award

Highly commended - The Arundell Arms, Lifton


Food and drink

Taste of England award

Highly commended - River Cottage Canteen & Deli, Plymouth


Things to do

Access for all tourism award

Gold - Calvert Trust Exmoor, Kentisbury

Highly commended - Countryside Mobility South West, Exeter

Tourism experience of the year

Gold - Calvert Trust Exmoor, Kentisbury


Tourism heroes

Visitor information provider of the year

SilverEnglish Riviera Visitor Information Service, Torquay 

 

The VisitEngland ROSE Awards 2015

The VisitEngland ROSE (Recognition Of Service Excellence) awards commend accommodation providers that offer the warmest of welcomes and the best customer service. 

Winners

Beera Farmhouse, Tavistock www.beera-farm.co.uk 

Higher Wiscombe Farm, Southleigh www.higherwiscombe.com

The Somerville, Torquay www.somervillehotel.co.uk

Tor Cottage, Chillaton www.torcottage.co.uk

 

South West Tourism Awards 2014-15

These highly competitive awards reflect the best tourism businesses across the whole of the South West and at the 2014-15 awards yet again Devon businesses were well represented. This year's winners from Devon include:

 

Small Visitor Attraction of the Year

BRONZE

 

Self Catering Holiday Provider of the Year

GOLD

BRONZE

 

Access & Inclusivity Award

GOLD

SILVER

BRONZE

 

B&B and Guest Accommodation of the Year

GOLD

BRONZE

 

Holiday Park & Village of the Year

SILVER

BRONZE

 

Small Hotel of the Year

SILVER

BRONZE

 

Sustainable Tourism Award

GOLD

BRONZE

 

Large Hotel of the Year

SILVER

BRONZE

 

Venue & Business Tourism Award

GOLD

BRONZE

 

Tourism Activity, Sport & Experience of the Year

BRONZE

 

Taste of the South West Award

SILVER

BRONZE

 

Outstanding Customer Service Award

SILVER

 

Tourist Information Service of the Year

SILVER

 

Tourism Pub of the Year

SILVER

 

Tourism Event of the Year

SILVER

BRONZE

 

Large Visitor Attraction of the Year

BRONZE

 

Find out more

Read more about these award winning businesses

Find silver and bronze award-winners from the 2015 Devon Tourism Awards

Read about celebrity chef restaurants in Plymouth

Stef Fox Adcock

Social